Wednesday, May 03, 2006

yummy stuff

Ok, so let's just ignore how long it's been since I posted on this page. shhhhh. I've been too busy cooking! Tonight I made some migas from the new rachel ray cookbook. Very yummy. eggs, red peppers, onions, etc.....I like the new cookbook so far. the recipes are classified as "almost too tired to cook", "a little less tired" and "bring it on, but be gentle". Very nice. I've been way too productive today though, so i need to go and rest and get away from this computer. bye.

Tuesday, November 08, 2005

Good ole fashioned vegetables

I'm a little proud of myself tonight. I made some good chicken in the crock pot "Super Easy Chicken" as a matter of fact. But we did NOT have canned greens tonight. No, I made FRESH, that's right FRESH green beans. Snapped 'em, steamed 'em and ate 'em. Now, to be truly authentic I should have grown them...but I can't even grow grass here....how are green beans supposed to happen. (well, maybe if i watered them more than once a month....). later.

Monday, June 20, 2005

What? A new post on here?

Ok, so clearly I've been a bit too busy to put anything on here, much less actually cook anything I write about, so here is a recipe to get you through till graduation:

Get out a paper plate
wrap, at least three, turkey hot dogs up in paper towel
microwave for approx. 1-1:30 minutes
unwrap, squirt out some spicy brown mustard on plate.
stick middle of hot dog with fork and alternate dipping ends to eat.
tada.
when finished.
drop fork(if you didn't use plastic) into dishwasher or sink.
pitch plate and paper towel.
all done.
yummy.

goes well with:
several spoonfuls of cottage cheese out of the container (can use the same fork-especially if no one else in your house eats cottage cheese)
and a sugar free cup of jello, strawberry is best. avoid cherry if you've had any tramatic experiences in your childhood with 'triaminic'.

delicious and satisfying meal. no messy cleanup, unless you cook the dogs too long.

later.

Sunday, January 30, 2005

So, yeah, food.

So , i think i was going to post about something I made the other day and i completely forgot. but it doesn't matter cause i have something for tonight. I tried to make pizza using our new stone pizza thing. So, yeah. what do you do when you have one set of directions on the stone thing and another set of directions on the pizza dough box. hmmm. conflict. so yeah. i made the dough, warmed up the stone in the oven....and then, because the dough was sticking to everything and your supposed to just 'slide' it onto the stone thing, yeah right. i basically had to open up the 450 degree oven, slide the rack out, roll up the dough that was all nice and spread out on the pan and spread it out with my hands on the 450 degree baking stone. fun. so it was cooking basically while i was spreading it out, rising and all that. but i got it into some sort of reasonably pizza shaped form pretty quickly. then, i put all the sauce and cheese and pepperoni on it. mind you the oven is still open and now down to about 445 degrees. so yeah. anyway. it turned out quite well, but i'm definitely going to have to figure out a better way to do this.

also, made some very yummy sugar free/from scratch hot cocoa tonight. very yummy.

later

Tuesday, January 18, 2005

1st time's a charm

So tonight I made my first meatloaf, and I have to say it was pretty darn good. I didn't get all fancy, just a good ole Betty Crocker recipe. Tomorrow I am testing out my new crock pot with a timer. very nifty! i'm making pot roast! must be home sick. hehe. i'll let you know how it turns out.

Thursday, January 13, 2005

Wendy in the Box

That is the dish I have been eating all week long. With the kitchen sort of out of commission. It's been Wendy's and Jack in the Box galore. Though only sour dough samiches and chili and stuff. At least i'm TRYING.

Thursday, January 06, 2005

Veggie Quiches sans spinach

So, I tried those SB (south beach) veggie quiche things last night and made them to have for breakfast for a few days. not bad. i took out the spinach part cause...well...ewwwww. and just used the eggs, peppers, onions and cheese. The directions are a bit misleading though. they say to use foil cupcake liners....which, now, makes good sense because they would probably keep their shape better than mine. however, it then mentions freezing and reheating them in the microwave....in foil liners. i think i see a problem. However, i have found it is MUCH easier to remove the little guys from the liners while they are cold, so just remember to take the liners off first, THEN microwave, and you should be fine. just a little quiche commentary on a thursday afternoon.